2013 Brand Diego Awards

By Joe Nelson (SanDiegoRadio.com)
San Diego Radio Was Well Represented at the 2013 Brand Diego Awards
The San Diego radio industry was well represented at the 2013 Brand Diego Awards, with several individuals winning top honors at the inaugural event presented by the San Diego Ad Club. Bob Bolinger was awarded the Paula Sullivan Outstanding Achievement Award, an award presented to individuals who have continually demonstrated their active involvement and dedication to the San Diego advertising and graphic design community and share their abilities, resources and inspiration for the betterment of our industry and/or the San Diego community at large. Star 94.1’s Delana Bennett won Media Professional of the Year, and KPBS took home the Media Company of the Year.
The 2013 Brand Diego Award Honorees are:
• Media Company of the Year – KPBS • Finalists: Cox Media, NBC San Diego • Media Professional of the Year – Delana Bennett, STAR 94.1 • Finalists: Chuck Dunning, San Diego 6; Dick Kelley, NBC San Diego; John Lynch, UT San Diego • Paula Sullivan Outstanding Achievement Award – Bob Bolinger, CBS Radio • Finalists: Gloria Valenti Gerak, Media Planning & Placement; Bennett Peji, Bennett Peji Design • Young Achiever Award – Marybeth Kneussel, NBC San Diego • Finalists: Stephanie Garcia, i.d.e.a.; Yichen Liu, IMI; Ciro Sepulveda, Lincoln Financial Media • Brand of the Year – San Diego Zoo • Finalists: BBB San Diego, Make A Wish, San Diego County Credit Union • Agency of the Year – Digitaria • Finalists: Covario, Mindgruve • Hispanic Marketing Visionary Brand of the Year – Del Mar Fairgrounds • Finalists: Jerome’s Furniture, Univision Radio • Hispanic Marketer of the Year – Al Delino, Al Delino Design • Finalists: Ivan Jurado, Univision Radio; Phillip Wilkinson, Entravision • Emerging Brand of the Year – Dive at Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort • Finalists: GetItFree.us, GovX • Industry Affiliate of the Year – The Henley Company • Finalists: FortyOneTwenty, Frank Rogozienski Photography • Leadership Award – Andreas Roell, Katana • Finalists: Frank Cowell, Elevator; Brandon Fishman, IMI • Brand Professional of the Year – Ted Molter, San Diego Zoo • Finalists: Darrell Pilant, Harrah’s Rincon Casino & Resort; Kat Smith, Petco • Agency Professional of the Year – Lauren Komrosky, Business Online • Finalists: Megan Rozo, IMI; James White, i.d.e.a. • Corporate Responsibility – Hansen Surfboards • Finalist: Adconian Direct
In addition, the San Diego Ad Club Board of Directors presented the AAF Silver Medal Award to Jonathan Bailey, i.d.e.a. and Melissa Lopez, Mindgruve for their leadership and service to the club. The Sheila Fox Scholarship was awarded to Lisa Papada from the Art Institute of CA, San Diego. The Brand Diego Awards highlight the club’s ongoing commitment to the San Diego business community and in support of the advertising and marketing industry in our region. There were 70 nominees for 14 Brand Diego Awards.
According to Tonya Mantooth, executive producer at Mantooth Studios and 2013/14 president of the San Diego Ad Club, “We are so proud of the honorees for our inaugural Brand Diego Awards. It’s a great representation of the amazing talent in the San Diego ad community.” Co-chairs for The Brand Diego Awards are also co-chairs of the San Diego Ad Club Board of Directors Jonathan Bailey, i.d.e.a. and Melissa Lopez, Mindgruve. “It was a great evening for our industry. There’s so much talent here in San Diego,” said Bailey. “We appreciate the opportunity to recognize the great work produced right here in San Diego,” added Lopez. The Brand Diego Award judges include: Mickey Belch, San Diego State University; Vicky Carlson, LEAD San Diego; Molly Cartmill, Sempra Energy; Robert Gleason, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority; Chris Haley, US Navy Region Southwest; Greg Joumas, Consultant / Professor; Robert Marlborough, Fandom Marketing; Margaret McAllister, Marketing Consultant; Judy McDonald, The Parker Foundation; Kris Michell, Downtown San Diego Partnership; Ted Owen, Carlsbad Chamber of Commerce; Andreas Roell, Katana; Sam Ross, Visit Carlsbad; Doug Sawyer, United Way of San Diego County; Mari Smith, Mari Smith International, Inc.; Joe Terzi, San Diego Tourism Authority. The San Diego Ad Club was founded in 1911 when the city officials were seeking promotional assistance for the upcoming Panama California Exposition in 1915. Today the San Diego Ad Club and its young professionals group, Ad 2 San Diego, boast 750 members and are affiliated with the American Advertising Federation.
Congratulations, Delana... And all the other winners.


Popular posts from this blog

SanDiegoRadio is Moving

Wolfman Jack Joins Pala Rez Radio

Headliner Announced for Taco Fest 2019